Nerves!

Yes, the nerves are certainly starting to come out to play.

In 1 months time, I shall be flying off to Boston, and in only 30 days time, I shall be starting my long cycle away from Portland in the direction of another Portland nearly 4,000 miles away.

And I’m starting to feel the pressure!

I’ve never done anything even remotely close to this before.  I’ve travelled, yes; but in the course of planning for this adventure, I’ve realised that all (well, most) of my previous travels have been done for the sake of travelling without any greater determination – I’ve travelled because I wanted to go and see somewhere, yet only ever saw the places and people from the outside, regardless of how far off the beaten track I tried to get.

I’ve not done any bike-touring before, and I certainly could have done a weekend trip – 2 days even – in preparation for this cross-continent trip, but I’m partly afraid that if I do so, then I’ll discover that actually, I don’t really like cycling all that much: day after day routines of cycle, (find somewhere to) camp, eat, sleep, repeat.  I’m deliberately throwing myself in off the deep-end, because then I’m committed!  And my competitive nature will see to the rest.  I hope!  So long as my knees prevail.

Anyway!

Although I’ve had every chance to get out on the bike for hours here and there, I’m finding plenty of excuses not to: I’m going to be cycling for 3 months, need to give my bum a rest while I can; building up sufficient fuel reserves while I can; all this planning needs done sometime; business closure stuff needs done; washing need to be doneblog needs updated; etc, etc…

However, here’s a link to my first YouTube upload, which shows my cycle loop from Perth to Dunkeld (ish) to Crieff and back to Perth.  It’s not great: It was a 1st attempt experiment at time-lapse (10-sec) with no sound.  More attempts will hopefully follow before I head off so that eventually, video clips may actually be worth watching.  I’m learning quickly; Bear with me…

2 thoughts on “Nerves!

  1. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I will learn many new
    stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

